Facebook scam threatens to delete accounts

There's new phishing scam targeting Facebook users  are threatening to delete users' Facebook accounts unless the victims pass along their account details within 24 hours." 

The phishing messages are reportedly chargingFacebook users with violating policy regulations by annoying or insulting other Facebook users. The messages are then said to ask for personal and financial information including Facebook login details and part of recipients' credit card numbers. 

However, these emails are entirely bogus, warns the blog. They are not coming from Facebook. "Social media venues would not request financial information, nor would they request login details." 

A typical phishing scam reads like this:

LAST WARNING : Your account is reported to have violated the policies that are considered annoying or insulting Facebook users. Until we system will disable your account within 24 hours if you do not do the reconfirmation. 

Please confirm your account below: 

[Link Removed] 


The Facebook Team 

Copyright facebook © 2011 Inc. All rights reserved. 

According to the blog, recipients who click the link are shown a fake Facebook "Account Disabled" Web form. The form asks for Facebook login details including email, password,Facebook security question, Facebook security answer, the first six digits on the user's credit card number, and their country of residence. 

So guys beware of this scam and be smart enough.
Happy Facebooking :)


Post a Comment

Recommend us on Google!


Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More